Update


Hi all!
I have been really add and not updated in ages! The reason why is I have started a job! I go two offers and I decided to start one and wait for the other one to do all their background checks. Then I will move over to the other one.
This job is about an hour away, I get the kids ready as I can and then I go, and then I get home about 6pm, which sucks! I hate not being home for my kids and when they get off the bus. Most days we are doing okay, we get homework done; dinner, then spelling test practice and then get ready for bed, usually conked out by 10pm!!
The days we have tuition, I have to rush in and rush out again to take the kids there and then come back for a late dinner.
As for the hijab, it is gone, I haven’t put it on for work, I feel very guilty but I can’t wear it here. I would not have got the job if I had worn it. No way. I know how much the American world can handle and it can’t handle a Muslim lady with a scarf on her head. Since I have started working I have not seen a single one! It is sad and once I am home and need to go out then I put it back on. I also try to dress as modestly as possible.
As for work it is nice to be at work, to get my mind to work. I really can’t wait till I get to the other job. I feel so bad I will be leaving soon, but I have so many pros to getting the other job, one being that I will be about 10 miles from home, kids and their school. Right now I am 50 miles away, too far for anything to go wrong.
But this place is niiiice! Very nice, very cushy! A funny thing happened; I went to the cafeteria yesterday, from the menu it looked like a very nice place. A lot of options to eat healthy. So I added money onto my card and went it, was a bit nervous but I went anyway, got my food, a quiche, yogurt, vitamin water and then two snack bars for later. I went to pay and the cost of this food was more than I put on the card!! Wow!! Expensive! So today I am going to the local deli/bagel shop! And eating there! People are constantly walking around, come in get coffee, work, go take lunch, work then more coffee and walking around and then go home! Cushy!! I’ll take it while I can, will give notice next week and see if they want me to stay or leave, but not till I get a confirmed offer from the other place.

Leave a Reply

